top of page

Let It Go!

Have you ever heard someone tell you to just let it go? I hear that quite often and the truth is, you probably should. And like most things, I know that it is easier said than done, but if you want to concentrate on the finer things in life, you have to teach yourself to let things go.

Letting things go doesn't mean never being angry or upset at a situation. In fact, it's quite the contrary, you definitely should acknowledge your feelings toward that issue, any issue really. Be honest with yourself and, even if it is embarrassing to you, allow yourself to feel that certain way. But then you can't let it rule over you; you must decide that even if you feel this way, it will not ruin you. So then you must stop thinking about that situation.

Mind you, your brain will probably continue to try to rehash the situation, but when that happens, you tell yourself, "no" and counter that thoughts by the awesome things going on in your life. You must train your brain to dwell on the things that are going right and well in your life, and eventually, your brain will cease to dwell on the negative things.

Yes, letting things go is a training. You are training your brain not to get caught up remembering negative situations, because the truth is, there are negative situation and there are positive situations all throughout your day, your life. Why, then, should we let the negative situations ruin our lives, when the positive situations are just waiting there to be embraced?

When you learn to let negative things go, you begin to experience peace. But more than peace your eyes start opening to all the wonderful things in life and the many possibilities available. This is when you start to realize that the sky is the limit, and then, not really; the universe is the limit. When your brain is not so burdened with dark clouds at every turn, you start to see the world as full of opportunity and wonder.

For those of you wondering, this is one of the techniques that I used to fight depression. I was depressive and suicidal and I was taking Cascara Sagrada, an herb, to help rebalance my brain chemicals. But I told myself that I would not be taking these pills all my life so I needed a more permanent solution. And then it came to me, stop dwelling on the negative things and focus on the things that I have been blessed with. At first I thought it was a load of malarky but eventually I decided to try it, and what do you know, slowly but surely I was having more 'light' days than 'dark' days. I'm not saying this is the answer to all depression victims, but I am saying it is something that everyone should learn to do. We have been trained, for too long, to concentrate on negativity that we, often, barely recognize the small positives in our life, which, in truth, could make a world of difference.

bottom of page